NFL releases video on heat stroke prevention, treatment

Aug 02, 2019

It’s hot outside and the NFL is taking notice. With every team in the midst of training camp and temperatures rising throughout the country, the league is taking extra precautions to protect players from heat-related illnesses. The NFL distributed a video, produced by the University of Connecticut’s Korey Stringer Institute, providing instruction to all clubs […]

Read More

The Athletic: Panthers team physician Pat Connor has performed crucial surgeries. But one repair in his career stands out.

Jul 22, 2019

A quarterback’s livelihood depends on his arm, and not many people know that better than Carolina Panthers head physician Pat Connor. Connor, who has roved the sidelines at every training camp practice, preseason and regular season Panthers game for over two decades, has performed three career-defining surgeries on two franchise quarterbacks: Jake Delhomme and Cam […]

Read More

MD Magazine: Going The Distance: The Impact of Sports Medicine on Primary Care

Jun 25, 2019

On April 13, 2016, Kobe Bryant showcased his signature “Mamba Mentality” one last time on the court. The longtime Lakers guard—a championed scorer and notorious competitor—was taking his Utah Jazz defenders to task, shouldering into the lane for a contested running on one possession, then crossing into a deep three-pointer on the next. Bryant’s attack, […]

Read More

ESPN: NFL asks teams to stop Oklahoma drill, others

May 22, 2019

The NFL has asked teams to eliminate some high-impact drills — including the iconic Oklahoma drill — from training camp practices as part of the league’s ongoing effort to reduce concussions. The league acknowledged the request Tuesday during its spring meeting in Key Biscayne, Florida. The recommendation came in response to data that showed a […]

Read More

The Tech of Sports: Dr. Leigh Ann Curl, Head Orthopaedic Surgeon for the Baltimore Ravens

Apr 15, 2019

Dr. Leigh Ann Curl is the Chief of Orthopaedics at MedStar Harbor Hospital. As part of the MedStar Sports Medicine team, Dr. Curl is the head orthopaedic surgeon for the Baltimore Ravens. She has been with the Ravens since 1998.In March 2018, she was elected President of the NFL Physicians Society. As president, Dr. Curl will help provide direction and support for the physicians and athletic trainers to ensure athletes receive the highest standard of medical and surgical care.

Read More

NFLPS Congratulates Bryan T. Kelly, M.D. on Appointment as HSS’s Surgeon-in-Chief, Medical Director

Mar 11, 2019

March 8, 2019 — Bryan T. Kelly, MD, who serves as a team physician for the National Football League’s New York Giants, and member of the NFL Physicians Society (NFLPS), was named Surgeon-in-Chief and Medical Director of Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS), the world’s largest academic medical center focused on musculoskeletal health. He will take the position in June. […]

Read More