Houston Texans’ Walt Lowe Named Outstanding NFL Team Physician of the Year

Mar 02, 2018

Houston Texans’ Walt Lowe Named
Outstanding NFL Team Physician of the Year
March 1, 2018 (Indianapolis, IN)—The NFL Physicians Society (NFLPS) congratulates Dr. Walt Lowe, M.D., for being recognized as Outstanding NFL Team Physician by the Professional Football Athletic Trainers Society (PFATS). The NFLPS held its annual Scientific Meeting and Symposium during the NFL Scouting Combine and hosted an awards ceremony recognizing the hard work of the NFL doctors and head athletic trainers. During this ceremony, Lowe was awarded the prestigious Jerry “Hawk” Rhea award by PFATS.
“The members of PFATS would like to congratulate Dr. Walt Lowe for being the 2018 Jerry ‘Hawk’ Rhea award recipient,” said James Collins, President of PFATS. “Dr. Lowe has been a dedicated and loyal team physician for the Houston Texans. He’s a respected member of the NFLPS, a great representative for the NFL and he continues to be an advocate for the members of PFATS.”
Lowe currently serves as Head Physician for the Texans. In addition to his work for the Texans, Lowe is affiliated with the University of Houston, where he serves as Head Physician for the University of Houston Cougars. Dr. Lowe also provides medical treatment for several Houston-area high school football teams. He is certified by the Board of Orthopedic Surgery and CAQ Sports Medicine. Dr. Lowe received his medical degree from the University of Texas in 1983, and then completed his residency at Tarrant County Affiliated Hospitals. After finishing his residency, he went on to complete a fellowship with the Kerlan-Jobe Orthopedic Clinic.
The Jerry “Hawk” Rhea Award for Outstanding NFL Team Physician is presented annually by PFATS to a member of the NFLPS. First awarded in 1988, it is named for Jerry Rhea, Head Athletic Trainers for the Atlanta Falcons from 1969 to 1994 and Assistant to the President of the Falcons from 1994-2001. In 1998, Jerry Rhea became the first winner of the Fain-Cain Memorial Award for outstanding NFL Athletic Trainer, awarded annually by the NFL team physicians.
Last year’s winner was Dr. James Andrews of the Washington Redskins. A complete list of winners can be found here.
About the NFL Physicians’ Society
The NFL Physicians’ Society was founded in 1966. Its mission is to provide excellence in the medical and surgical care of athletes in the National Football League and to provide direction and support for the athletic trainers in charge of the care for these athletes. For more information, please visit www.nflps.org.