Colts’ Dave Hammer Named Outstanding NFL Athletic Trainer of the Year

Mar 02, 2018

Colts’ Dave Hammer Named
Outstanding NFL Athletic Trainer of the Year
NFL Physicians Society Bestows Fain-Cain Award
March 1, 2018 (Indianapolis, IN)— Dave Hammer, Head Athletic Trainer for the Indianapolis Colts, was selected to receive the prestigious Fain-Cain Memorial Award for Outstanding NFL Athletic Trainer of the Year from the NFL Physicians Society (NFLPS).  The NFLPS held its annual General Medical & Scientific Meeting during the NFL Scouting Combine and hosted the awards ceremony.
“Dave has been a trainer in Indianapolis for the entire length of his NFL career,” saidRobert A. Heyer, M.D., President of NFLPS. “The Fain-Cain award honors those who exhibit long-term commitment to the NFL, and Dave exemplifies that service.” 
Hammer has served with the Indianapolis Colts for 34 years, starting as Assistant Athletic Trainer in 1984 after working three years as a camp intern. In 2006, Hammer became Associate Head Athletic Trainer, and in 2009 he assumed his current role as Head Athletic Trainer. In addition to his role with the Colts, Hammer serves on the Professional Football Athletic Training Society (PFATS) Combine Committee. He has previously served on the PFATS Public Relations Committee and the PFATS Executive Board.
“During the 34 years I’ve worked with Dave Hammer with the Colts he has always demonstrated a tireless work ethic, totally devoted to his profession. He has shown great organizational and communication skills and has been an outstanding leader of our medical team. He has been director of the medical part of the NFL Combine for 20 years, always working to improve the efficiency of the event each year. He is a devoted husband, father, and grandfather and serves his community,” said Arthur Rettig, M.D., Emeritus Associate Team Physician for the Indianapolis Colts, who has served with the team since 1984. “It has been an honor to work with him and to count him as a friend. Congratulations to Dave on a well-deserved honor,” said Dr. Rettig.
The Fain-Cain Award is named for Dr. Robert H. Fain, M.D., and Dr. Thomas E. Cain, M.D., both long-time team physicians for the former Houston Oilers. The award was established shortly after Dr. Fain’s retirement and Dr. Cain’s death. The award is given annually to an NFL athletic trainer who best reflects the virtues of a certified athletic trainer and displays the highest level of professionalism.
Last year’s winner was Jim Maurer, Head Athletic Trainer of the Dallas Cowboys. A full list of previous winners can be found here.
About the NFL Physician’s Society
The NFL Physicians Society was founded in 1966. Its mission is to provide excellence in the medical and surgical care of the athletes in the National Football League and to provide direction and support for the athletic trainers in charge of the care for these athletes. For more information, please visit