Redskins’ James Andrews Named Outstanding NFL Team Physician of the Year

Mar 02, 2017

Redskins’ James Andrews Named Outstanding NFL Team Physician of the Year

NFL Physicians Society Applauds Andrews for Receiving the Jerry “Hawk” Rhea Award


Indianapolis, March 2, 2017 – The NFL Physicians Society (NFLPS) applauds Dr. James Rheuben Andrews, M.D. for being recognized as Outstanding NFL Team Physician by the Professional Football Athletic Trainers Society (PFATS). The NFLPS held its annual Scientific Meeting and Symposium during the NFL Scouting Combine and hosted an awards ceremony honoring the best of the NFL doctors and head athletic trainers. There, Andrews was presented with the prestigious Jerry “Hawk” Rhea Award by the Redskins Head Athletic Trainer, Larry Hess. The award is given annually to the NFL team physician who has made the greatest contributions to both the NFL and the profession of athletic training.


“Jim has had immeasurable influence in the league. He’s had a decades-long career at the forefront of orthopedic surgery and has brought legendary expertise to thousands of athletes. Most importantly, he treats every player, college or professional, with respect and the highest degree of care.” said Dr. Robert Heyer, M.D., president of the NFLPS.  “We are excited to see him honored by the Professional Athletic Trainers of the NFL with the Jerry “Hawk” Rhea Award.”


Andrews has served as a team physician in the NFL for In addition to serving as team physician for the Washington Redskins, Dr. Andrews is affiliated with Auburn University and the University of Alabama. He is a founding partner and medical director for the Andrews Institute in Gulf Breeze, Florida. He is a founding member of the American Sports Medicine Institute (ASMI). Once a college athlete at Louisiana State University, Andrews completed LSU School of Medicine in 1967, and his orthopaedic residency at Tulane Medical School in 1972.


The Jerry “Hawk” Rhea Award for Outstanding NFL Team Physician is presented annually by PFATS to a member of the NFLPS. First awarded in 1998, it is named for Jerry Rhea who was the Head Athletic Trainer for the Atlanta Falcons from 1969 until 1994 and worked as Assistant to the President of the Falcons from 1994 to 2001.  Jerry Rhea was the first winner, in 1998, of the Fain-Cain Memorial Award for outstanding NFL Athletic Trainer of the year, awarded annually by the NFL team physicians.


Last year’s winner was Dr. Robert Anderson of the Carolina Panthers. A full list of previous winners can be found here.